WELCOME TO SRI VEERAMAKALIAMMAN TEMPLE
   
Sri Viswanathar


Siva, the last of the Trinities is the God of destruction & he is assisted in this by his consort Parvathi,the Goddess of disintegration.Parvathi represents prakriti, which means perishable matter, in the absence of which true and complete destruction by Siva becomes impossible. ( As we are all aware of today, only bio-degradable matter can be destroyed ). This could possibly be the meaning of the idea that Siva becomes nothing in the absence of Sakthi

Siva is generally worshipped in the form of the phallus (linga) fixed on a pedestal. Energy can neither be created nor destroyed & the Linga symbolises this scientific fact. The Linga denotes the primeval energy of the Creator Siva Lingams worshipped in temples are mostly made of stone & consists of three parts. The lowest portion in the shape of a square symbolises Brahma (the God of Creation). The middle part in the shape of an octagon symbolises Vishnu (the God of Maintenance). These two portions are embedded inside a pedestal. The cylindrical portion projecting from the pedestal symbolises Shiva (the God of Destruction).

Siva resides high up on snowy mountain ranges. Image of Siva in his physical form presents him as a soothing meditative figure. His ornaments are not gold & precious stones.

He wears a necklace made of skulls signifying his role as destructor. He has snakes coiling all over his body & his hair is matted and long extending over the whole sky & space. The crescent moon adorns his crown, signifying his control on the time cycle.(Amavasay & Pournami).He smears his body with ashes & wears a tiger skin and elephant skin. He has a third eye on his forehead which is the source of knowledge & wisdom. The holy Ganges is imprisoned in his flowing locks. In his two arms he holds the Trisulam (the three prongs representing the three gunas of sattva, tamas & rajas) in one & Damaru in the other. His vahana is the Nandi, who is also his chief disciple to whom Siva passed on all his immense knowledge in arts. The above description should convey him as an angry & destructive image, yet being the source of all knowledge he is often in a meditative pose with half closed eyes looking out into the universe as well as in to his self, signifying that his act of destruction is in itself an act of creation for in the absence of destruction there can be no creation.

Other names & manifestations of Lord Siva
  • Natarajar
  • Dakshinamurthi
  • Lingodhbavar
  • Haryardhamurthi
  • Ardhanariswarar
  • Bhikshatanamurthi


How to pray
Merciful Lord Shiva appears with 5 faces , 10 hands and 3 eyes.Performing the sacred 5 duties of creation, protection, destruction, Maya and bestowal if we pray sincerely we will get the sacred knowledge.

Best day to offer prayers
  • Monday
  • Pradosham
  • Pournami (Thithi)
  • Amavasai (Thithi)
  • Thiruvadharai (star)
  • Maha Sivarathiri
  • Monthly Sivarathiri


The best offerings are The same as Lord Shiva.
Untitled Document
Pooja & Events
Thai Karthigai
03.02.2020 - Monday   


Sukla Chathurthi - Sri Vinayakar Homam (6 am)
28.01.2020 - Tuesday   


Thai Amavasai (Annadhanam)
24.01.2020 - Friday   


Pradosham
22.01.2020 - Wednesday   


Sri Lakshmi Durgai Amman Sumangali Poojai
19.01.2020 - Sunday   


Sukravara Amman Procession (7 pm)
17.01.2020 - Friday   


Theipirai Ashtami
17.01.2020 - Friday   
Sri Bairavar Abishegam (8.15 pm)


Varushabishekam (Thai Rohini)
04.02.2020 - Tuesday   


Pradosham
06.02.2020 - Thursday   


Pournami
08.02.2020 - Saturday   


Sri Veeramakaliamman - Homam
08.02.2020 - Saturday   


Sri Lakshmi Durgai Amman - Abishegam
08.02.2020 - Saturday   


Thaipusam (Annadhanam)
08.02.2020 - Saturday   


Maha Sankatahara Chathurthi - Sri Vinayakar Homam (4 pm)
12.02.2020 - Wednesday   


Sukravara Amman Procession (7 pm)
14.02.2020 - Friday   


Theipirai Ashtami - Sri Bairavar Abishegam (8.15 pm)
16.02.2020 - Sunday   


Pradosham
21.02.2020 - Friday   


Maha Sivarathiri - 1st Kaalam
21.02.2020 - Friday   


Maha Sivarathiri - 2nd Kaalam
21.02.2020 - Friday   
Maha Sivarathiri - 2nd Kaalam


Maha Sivarathiri - 3rd Kaalam
21.02.2020-Friday   
Maha Sivarathiri - 3rd Kaalam


Maha Sivarathiri - 4th Kaalam
21.02.2020 - Friday   
Maha Sivarathiri - 4th Kaalam


Amavasai
23.02.2020 - Sunday   


Sukla Chathurthi
27.02.2020 - Thursday   


Beginning of Brahmotsavam - Devatha Anukgnai, Sri Maha Ganapathy Homam
27.02.2020 - Thursday   


1st Day Festival - Kodiyetram (Flag Raising)
28.02.2020 - Friday    


2nd Day Festival
29.02.2020 - Saturday    


3rd Day Festival (108 Kalasabhishekam)
01.03.2020 -Sunday    


Monthly Karthigai
01.03.2020 - Sunday   


4th Day Festival (Simha Vaganam)
02.03.2020- Monday    


5th Day Festival (Yaanai Vaganam)
03.03.2020- Tuesday    


6th Day Festival (Rishaba Vaganam)
04.03.2020 - Wednesday    


7th Day Festival
05.03.2020 - Thursday   


8th Day Festival (Kuthirai Vaganam)
06.03.2020 - Friday   


9th Day Festival (Silver Chariot Procession)
07.03.2020 - Saturday    


Pradosham
07.03.2020 - Saturday   


10th Day Festival : Maasi Magam Theertha Utsavam, Kodi Irakkuthal, Manjal Neer Vilayattu
08.03.2020 - Sunday   


Sri Nadaraj Abishegam - 4.30 pm
08.03.2020 - Sunday   


Vidaiyaatri - Big Padaiyal Poojai
09.03.2020 - Monday   


Vidaiyaatri - Big Padaiyal Poojai
09.03.2020 - Monday   
Vidaiyaatri - Big Padaiyal Poojai


Pournami
09.03.2020 - Monday   


Sri Veeramakaliamman - Homam
09.03.2020 - Monday   
Sri Veeramakaliamman - Homam


Sri Lakshmi Durgai Amman - Abishegam
09.03.2020- Monday   


Maha Sankatahara Chathurthi - Sri Vinayakar Homam (4 pm)
12.03.2020 -Thursday   


Theipirai Ashtami - Sri Bairavar Abishegam (8.15 pm)
16.03.2020 - Monday   


Sukravara Amman Procession (7 pm)
20.03.2020 - Friday   


Sani Pradosham
21.03.2020 - Saturday   


Amavasai
23.03.2020- Monday   


Yukathi Telugu New Year
25.03.2020 - Wednesday   


Commencement of Vasantha Navarathiri
25.03.2020 - Wednesday   


Monthly Karthigai
28.03.2020 - Saturday   


kla Chathurthi - Sri Vinayakar Homam (6 am)
28.03.2020 - Saturday   


Sri Rama Navami
02.04.2020 - Thursday   


Pradosham
05.04.2020 - Sunday   


Panguni Uthiram - 1st Day (Silver Chariot Procession)
06.04.2020 - Monday   


Pournami
07.04.2020- Tuesday   


Panguni Uthiram -2nd Day (Paalkudam, Kaavadi) (Mayil Vaganam)
07.04.2020 - Tuesday   


Panguni Uthiram -3rd Day (Manjal Neer Vilayattu) (Silver Chapparam)
08.04.2020- Wednesday   


Maha Sankatahara Chathurthi - Sri Vinayakar Homam (4 pm)
11.04.2020 - Saturday   


‘Saarvari’ Tamil New Year
14.04.2020- Tuesday   


Untitled Document
Prasatham Booking
Untitled Document
Donation
Untitled Document
Photos
  All Rights Reserved by Sri Veeramakaliamman Temple Refulgence Inc Pte Ltd